Skip to content

East Coast Seafood

July 16, 2010

I’ve been back on the East Coast all week, scrutinizing and studying rare books in Charlottesville, VA.  I’m staying in the University of Virginia’s 1817 dorms on The Lawn originally designed by Thomas Jefferson.  It’s a real treat, steeped in brick-paved history.  I’ve also been eating as much seafood as I can get my hands on, mostly in the form of sashimi.  Last night, I dined with some fellow book-nerds at Mono Loco in downtown Charlottesville.  We sipped margaritas and mojitos on the patio in the muggy Virginia heat, and enjoyed a good meal.  I decided to take advantage of our relative proximity to the Chesapeake Bay and ordered the Loco Oyster Platter.  Tender, batter-fried oysters arrived nestled among a bed of red beans and rice.  Julienned jicama, carrots, and zucchini tossed with diced tomatoes in a flavorful lime-balsamic vinaigrette and a garnish of baby greens topped things off.  The citrusy dressing and crunchy vegetables helped lighten the heaviness of the fried oysters, while the rice and beans provided a starchy balance.  A great meal augmented by great company!

2 Comments
  1. brenda permalink
    July 27, 2010 2:30 pm

    wow! that looks absolutely delicious!

  2. July 29, 2010 3:39 pm

    It was! I’m still thinking about this meal, it was so good. I wonder how I could approximate it in Iowa…

Comments are closed.