Skip to content

Potato, Prosciutto & Rosemary Pizza

January 15, 2012

For our first dinner of the new year, the Midwestern Gentleman and I picked a recipe from my new treasure-trove of culinary goodness (a gift from the Minnesota Mom), The Northern Heartland Kitchen.  One of the reasons I love this cookbook is that the recipes are based on fresh ingredients that are available in this part of the country, so I know I will easily find whatever I need in our local market.  The introduction to each recipe offers suggestions for other recipes in the book which would pair well.  My favorite attribute of this book, however, is the way the recipes are divided seasonally.  Instead of pining for fresh asparagus in the deep of January, I turn to the “Winter” section of the cookbook, and recipe after recipe based on locally available wintertime produce tempts my tastebuds. The Potato, Prosciutto & Rosemary Pizza did not disappoint.  I used my own recipe for pizza dough (although the cookbook offered a basic one that looked good, too), and then topped the pizza as directed.  You can mix up the dough about a half an hour before you want to use it, but to let it develop a more complex flavor, I recommend mixing it up the night before and refrigerating it (take the dough out of the refrigerator at least 1 hour before you plan to use it) or mixing it up earlier in the day, and letting it “proof” at room temperature for at least 4-6 hours.

As we sat down to our meal and dug into the hot pizza, its chewy crust piled high with savory toppings, the Midwestern Gentleman turned to me and said, “wow, when can we make this again?”  In my world, there is no higher praise for a new recipe!

Whole Wheat Pizza Dough

1 1/2 cups warm water

1 tsp honey

1/4 tsp active dry yeast

2 tsp olive oil

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 tsp salt

Dissolve the honey in the warm water.  Add the yeast and let bloom for about 5 minutes.  Stir in the olive oil followed by the flour and salt.  Knead for 5 – 10 minutes, until dough is smooth and elastic.  If refrigerating, shape dough into a ball, place in an oiled bowl, cover with plastic wrap, and refrigerate overnight.  Remove from the refrigerator at least 1 hour before using.  If proofing at room temperature, shape the dough into a ball, place it on a board covered in cornmeal, flatten dough into a disk, cover with plastic wrap or a damp towel, and let rest at room temperature for 4-6 hours.  Roll out the dough to a 12″ – 16″ circle (depending on how thin or thick you like your pizza crust).  Let dough rest for 20 minutes, then top it with your desired toppings, and bake in a preheated 425 F oven for 15 to 20 minutes.

For the Potato, Prosciutto & Rosemary pizza, the first layer was a thinly sliced ball of fresh mozzarella:

On top of the mozzarella, I layered about a pound of Yukon Gold potatoes, thinly sliced.  I used a chef’s knife, but I recommend using a mandoline slicer for the thinnest, most even slices.

I then layered prosciutto on top of the potatoes.  I left a quarter of the pizza without meat, since the Midwestern Gentleman wasn’t certain he would like prosciutto (as it turns out, he does).

Over the prosciutto, I sprinkled a layer of finely minced fresh garlic (about 3 cloves).

The next layer was thinly sliced red onion.  Again, I used a chef’s knife, but would try a mandoline slicer next time.

At this point, I brushed a light coating of fruity, extra virgin olive oil all over the pizza toppings and exposed crust.

Finally, I topped the pizza off with about a half a cup of grated parmesan cheese, a few tablespoons of minced, fresh rosemary, a few tablespoons of chopped fresh parsley, and a dusting of freshly cracked black pepper.

Twenty minutes later, we pulled a delicious, homey, winter meal out of the oven.

This will definitely not be the last recipe we try from The Northern Heartland Kitchen!

2 Comments
  1. January 17, 2012 6:35 pm

    Wow! this looks really good. I may have to try this but since I’m in the south, I’d sub some good country ham for the prosciutto.

  2. January 19, 2012 10:50 am

    Country ham sounds like a perfect substitution — yum!

Comments are closed.

