Skip to content

Vanilla Sugar

July 13, 2011

Adam sent us home from our trip to Maryland with a vial of Madagascar vanilla beans.  I’ve been remembering fondly the jar of vanilla sugar Adam keeps on hand for sweetening coffee and sprinkling on top of baked goods, whether breakfast or dessert.  Vanilla sugar is lovely for any sweetening purpose that could benefit from a hint of rich, smooth vanilla flavor.  Mmm.

I placed one of the vanilla beans in a clean, dry jar (a re-purposed pasta sauce jar) and then filled the jar to the top with raw cane sugar, leaving about an inch of headroom.  Sealed up tight, it has been sitting in my kitchen cabinet for about a week.  I shake it up daily, and will wait another week or two before I start using it.  (But it already smells wonderful!)

2 Comments
  1. July 14, 2011 8:01 pm

    Yum. Have you ever tried orange-peel sugar or lemon-peel? I’ve wanted to experiment with those, too.

  2. July 15, 2011 9:53 am

    Oh, what a great idea! I wonder if a strong herb like mint or rosemary would also work, if the essential oil is fresh and strong enough? At this rate, I suspect I will soon have a collection of sugar-jars to rival my collection of infused vodkas…

Comments are closed.

