Skip to content

Chocolate Banana Bliss Bread

April 23, 2011

I’d been eyeing some over-ripe bananas that got stashed in the freezer a few weeks ago… and you know my feelings about banana bread.  My favorite banana bread recipe is the plain ol’ naked, nut-free banana bread my Mom has been baking since I was a little girl.  And yet — sometimes a bit of chocolate is to chto nado, as my Russian friends would say.  Also, the Gentleman Chocoholic loves chocolate more than any person I have ever met.  Also, Easter is this weekend, and I will be painting kitchen cabinets instead of cooking up a big, let’s-celebrate-springtime Easter dinner like I usually do.  For all of these rather tenuous reasons, I decided to give marbled chocolate banana bread a chance.  I’m sure you can guess by the title of this post how I feel about it now.

Chocolate Banana Bliss Bread

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)

1 cup raw sugar

2 Tbsp butter, softened

2 Tbsp applesauce

2 eggs

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1/3 cup buttermilk

1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Grease an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 inch loaf pan and set aside.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon (if using) in a small bowl and set aside.

Beat together the butter, sugar, and applesauce in a large bowl.

Whisk in the eggs until smooth.  Mash the bananas with a fork, and then stir into the egg mixture along with the buttermilk.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir just to combine.

Melt the chocolate in a medium, glass bowl in the microwave on HIGH in 30-second bursts, stirring well in-between cycles, until just melted.  (Alternatively, melt the chocolate in the top of a double boiler.)  Let the chocolate cool slightly.  Stir 1 1/2 cups of the banana bread batter into the melted chocolate, and stir until smooth.

Alternate the plain and chocolate batters in the prepared loaf pan, and use a knife or chopstick to swirl the batters together for a marbled effect.

Bake for an hour and test with a toothpick; if necessary, bake an additional 15 minutes.  Let cool for 10 minutes, and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

3 Comments
  1. April 23, 2011 8:53 am

    That looks great! I like that you splurge on your chips. I try to buy brand-names when they’re on sale, but will admit to using store-brand more often than not.

  2. April 23, 2011 9:01 am

    Thanks for stopping by, Rufus. I use store-brand for a lot of things, but we definitely splurge on chocolate around here. Nice-looking blog, btw — that gorgeous rack of lamb is making me a little sad that I’m not cooking Easter dinner this year!

  3. April 23, 2011 9:33 pm

    Mmm, I love banana bread and adding chocolate looks like it only makes it even better. Great idea. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your banana bread up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/04/sweets-for-saturday-14_22.html

Comments are closed.

