Skip to content

Culinary Daydreams

November 13, 2010

I’ve finally fully recovered from tonsillitis, but my diet for most of the last week has been tea, yogurt, and soup from a can (usually served by the Attentive Gentleman, who also provided juice, cough drops, and good cheer).

In between naps, I spent some time perusing the culinary exploits of my fellow food bloggers, and these are the posts that set me daydreaming about what I wanted to cook when I was feeling better.

Celia’s Weekend Treats over at Fig Jam and Lime Cordial are totally drool-worthy, especially the Red Leicester Cheese Biscuits rolled in poppy seeds — I was craving a taste of them over my chicken soup.

I am a sucker for all things cinnamon, and you may have noticed I have been on an apple kick all autumn, too.  Geni’s description of  Apple & Cinnamon Softies over at Sweet and Crumby put these cookies on my To Bake list.

The archives at Sandwiches I Have Loved offered up this divine Meatball Hero.  I can’t wait for a weekend when I have time to make my Gramma’s meatball recipe, and can try out Rebecca’s meatball hero strategy.  The banana peppers strike me as the crowning creative touch.

I’ve never had lemon bars packed with nuts before, but this recipe for Lemon Nut Bars from The Spice Garden makes me want to try out the combo.

Being sick makes me crave childhood favorites, and butterscotch pudding is one of my most reliable comfort foods.  Here is David Lebovitz’s recipe for Butterscotch Pudding, which uses a bit of real whiskey for additional flavor.  Happily, the Attentive Gentleman shares my loves for butterscotch, so I’m sure he’ll help me work through a batch of this treat.

With such sweet inspiration, it feels great to be getting back to my own culinary adventures!

2 Comments
  1. mishka permalink
    November 14, 2010 12:46 pm

    thank you for acknowledging the one true and best pudding. we must convert donovan, perhaps the whiskey will do the trick!

  2. November 15, 2010 9:18 pm

    Ha ha, I am so high-fiving you right now. Butterscotch Lovers of the World, Unite!

Comments are closed.

