Skip to content

Custom Energy Bars

September 12, 2010

Blueberry, chocolate & flax; tropical blend; parchment-wrapped bar.

I enjoy the convenience of store-bought energy bars, but I’ve also been trying to stay away from heavily processed foods wherever I can.  Part of what I’ve been enjoying about this new, slower life in Iowa is having the time to reconnect with the sources of what I eat: baking my own bread, making my own yogurt, eating eggs from my friends’ chickens.  So, in that spirit, I decided to start experimenting with making my own snack bars for my longer weekend bike rides.  This basic, no-bake energy bar recipe is easy to tailor to your own tastes with your favorite spices, fruits, nuts, or granola. I’ve included the proportions I used for two great flavor combinations: a tropical blend bar, and a blueberry & chocolate bar.

Clockwise from top left: pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, dried blueberries, chocolate chips, shredded coconut, dried papaya/crystallized ginger.

Basic Energy Bar Recipe

  • Bring the basic binding syrup to a boil over medium-high heat and boil for 1 minute: 1/2 cup agave syrup, 1/4 cup honey, 3/4 cup granulated sugar (raw, demerara, or light brown).
  • Stir in 3/4 Sunbutter or peanut butter, and return to a boil.
  • Remove from heat and set aside.
  • Combine the dry ingredients (approximately 4 cups of cereal, nuts, spices, dried fruit, etc.) in a heatproof bowl.
  • Pour the syrup over the dry ingredients and stir well to coat.
  • Press the mixture into a parchment-lined 9 x 13″ pan and let cool.
  • When cool, cut into bars and individually wrap with plastic wrap or parchment paper.

Tropical Energy Bars


2/3 cup roasted & salted pumpkin seeds

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1/4 cup finely chopped crystallized ginger

1/4 cup finely chopped dried papaya

3 cups Kashi Nuggets (or Grapenuts) cereal

Blueberry, Chocolate & Flax Energy Bars


2/3 cup dried blueberries

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup flax seeds

3 cups Kashi Nuggets (or Grapenuts) cereal

5 Comments
  1. brenda permalink
    September 13, 2010 11:05 am

    This is just what I needed! I have to bring some easy healthy snacks to school and these are perfect. 🙂
    Have any easy eating ideas that contain more protein and less grains?

  2. September 13, 2010 11:20 am

    You’re right! Wonderful recipes and gorgeous photos. Would you consider letting SunButter add the recipe(s) to their site? Full credit to you, of course. : )

  3. September 14, 2010 9:52 am

    Elizabeth — it’s fine with me if Sunbutter adds my recipes to their website (yes, as long as I get credit, of course). Thanks!

  4. September 22, 2010 2:11 pm

    Hi there,
    Thanks so much. Your recipe is a great addition to our website. It’s now posted for more people to enjoy your delicious creation. Take care!
    http://www.sunbutter.com/recipes-Custom-Energy-Bars.php

  5. September 22, 2010 5:09 pm

    Thanks, Elizabeth!

Comments are closed.

