Skip to content

59 Foods on a Stick

August 21, 2010

Let’s be honest: state fairs are all about Food on a Stick.  The Iowa State Fair offers 59 different food-on-a-stick options this year, in addition to its many other fair food staples.  I decided to forego the Salad on a Stick, but here’s a brief review of the items I did sample:

SAVORIES

Porkchop on a Stick

Porkchop on a Stick: Juicily transcendent, with or without barbecue sauce. This succulent treat will haunt my dreams until next year’s fair.

Hot Beef Sundae

Hot Beef Sundae: A pile of mashed potatoes topped with shredded beef in gravy, grated cheese, and a cherry tomato.  Tasty, but if you only have room for one meat option, I recommend you stick with the porkchop (no pun intended).  (O.k., pun totally intended.)

Deep Fried Pickle with Ranch Dressing

Deep Fried Pickle: Second only to the Porkchop on a Stick as my favorite.  Together, the two are Fair Food Nirvana.  A crunchy, well-seasoned, cornmeal coating encases a juicy dill pickle.  Delicious on its own, but even better dipped in ranch dressing.

Corndog

Corndog: I didn’t sample the corndog myself, but I was assured by my intrepid foodie companions that it was everything a corndog should be.

SWEETS

Deep Fried Twinkie: I had only one bite of this.  Meh.

Chocolate-Dipped Cheesecake on a Stick

Chocolate-Dipped Cheesecake on a Stick: Complete with graham-cracker crust.  Excellent texture and tangy flavor.  The chocolate helps it stay on the stick.

Chocolate-Dipped Peanut Butter Mousse on a Stick

Peanut Butter Mousse on a Stick: This is another dessert I didn’t try, but Elaine’s face says it all.

Funnel Cake

Funnel Cake: a must-have fair classic doused in powdered sugar — what more can I say?

Bauder's Peppermint Ice Cream Bar

Bauder’s Oreo-Encrusted Peppermint Ice Cream Bar: Mmm.  Mmm.  Mmm.  A thick bar of peppermint ice cream, rolled in crushed Oreos with fudge sauce as a binder.  Bauders makes these treats only for the State Fair, so don’t miss out!

Iowa State Fair

8 Comments
  1. August 21, 2010 9:54 pm

    Oooh! I’m jealous! The Minnesota State Fair starts on Thursday and I can’t wait. The buzz this year is chicken fried bacon on a stick. Not sure how I feel about that…

  2. August 21, 2010 11:12 pm

    Wow. I will expect a detailed report — enjoy!

  3. August 22, 2010 11:45 am

    Ha! I’ve heard about all those things on the news, but don’t consider myself much of a “fair” person so haven’t seen them up close yet.

    The hot beef sundae doesn’t sound appetizing…something about putting “hot beef” and “sundae” together just isn’t right.

    But that funnel cake – that’s something I could get on board with! YUM!

  4. August 22, 2010 11:56 am

    This was my first Iowa State Fair experience, and it was certainly an adventure. The funnel cake is delicious, but I recommend sharing it to prevent a serious stomach-ache. 🙂

  5. mishka permalink
    August 24, 2010 9:19 pm

    well, i’ve had chicken fried bacon. 30th brithday – chicken fried bacon, whiskey, & cupcakes…. and it was everything i could have dreamt of and more.

    and now i’m thinking of fried dough (not funnel cake, the GOOD one) and drooling inconsolably.

  6. August 24, 2010 10:07 pm

    You know, I haven’t found a proper fried dough in years? Seems like it’s all funnel cake these days (not that I’d been going to many fairs before Iowa). Your birthday dinner sounds insane. I respect that. Mmm.

  7. Lorrie permalink
    September 4, 2010 8:48 pm

    The “hot beef sundae” was an answer to a “Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me!” question this morning. It was also the punchline to a John Edwards joke. Eww….

  8. September 4, 2010 9:21 pm

    I’m glad you told me that AFTER my fair experience!

Comments are closed.

