Skip to content

B.’s Mom’s Cheesecake Brownies

May 31, 2010

My college boyfriend’s mom made amazing cheesecake-topped brownies, which she would occasionally freeze and ship to him in New England all the way from Georgia.  Even after B. and I had been dating for a couple of years, his mom still wouldn’t give me the recipe.  “It’s nothing personal,” she explained, “but those brownies are the only leverage I have to make him come home for an occasional visit.”  On one such occasional visit, B. and I were emptying the dishwasher while his mom was at work.  As I opened a cabinet to put away a pile of bowls, I noticed a typed sheet taped to the inside of the cabinet door.  It was the super secret cheesecake brownie recipe!  I would like to say I struggled with the ethical dilemma before me, but these brownies are so sinfully delicious that I immediately shook hands with the devil on my left shoulder and didn’t give the angel on my right a single glance.  When you make them, you’ll understand why. I’ve tweaked the recipe and its methodology over the years, and recently my friend Kristin suggested mixing coffee into the chocolate portion for a mocha-cheesecake experience.  Any way you make them, I suggest cutting these rich treats into cheesecake brownie “bites” about 1 1/2″ square.

B.’s Mom’s Cheesecake Brownies

36 bites

FOR THE BROWNIES:

1 cup bittersweet or semisweet high-quality chocolate chips (I use Ghirardelli or Scharffenberger’s)

1/2 cup butter

2 large eggs

1/3 to 1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Grease a 9″ x 9″ baking pan (I used a 7″ x 10″ baking dish this time around, and it worked fine).  In a large, microwave-safe bowl, nuke the butter and chocolate chips at 30-second intervals at 30% power, whisking vigorously in between each interval, until chocolate is melted and mixture is thick and glossy. 

Do not overheat: once the butter melts, whisking will do most of the work encouraging the chocolate to follow suit.

Whisk in the two eggs, stirring quickly to avoid cooking them, and the sugar.  Stir in the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Pour the batter into the prepared pan and set aside.

FOR THE CHEESECAKE:

one 8-oz. package of cream cheese (don’t used the reduced-fat version; it’s too squishy)

1 egg

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  In another bowl, beat the ingredients for the cheesecake with a mixer on medium speed for 5 minutes, until smooth and fluffy.  Spoon over the brownie mixture in the pan.    Swirl the batters with a butter knife or chopstick.

Bake 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool in the pan set on a wire rack.  When completely cool, cut into squares.  Keep refrigerated or wrap tightly and freeze.

5 Comments
  1. m.mccoy permalink
    May 31, 2010 2:07 pm

    these are sooo yummy! thanks for sharing!

  2. June 2, 2010 11:29 pm

    Holy crap those were so good! Thanks for bringing them on the ride the other day, then helped balance out my calorie deficit a bit 🙂

    I love the story of how you got the recipe too. Too fun.

  3. Lorrie permalink
    June 5, 2010 2:47 pm

    The brownies are in the oven as I type!

    I do have a question, though: my batter wouldn’t swirl *at all* because it was so thick. Did you have trouble with that step? Or, very possibly, did I mis-measure?

  4. June 5, 2010 4:48 pm

    Hmm… I don’t usually have trouble swirling, but you could try (next time, I guess) reserving a few teaspoonfuls of brownie batter to drizzle on top of the cheescake batter — maybe that would make swirlage easier to achieve? You also have to sort of flick the knife or chopstick upwards a little as you’re swirling, to bring the brownie batter up to the surface. Let me know how they turn out!

  5. Lorrie permalink
    June 5, 2010 10:17 pm

    They turned out great! I used 1/3 c. sugar, and was worried it wasn’t sweet enough, but people thought they were tasty as is.

Comments are closed.

