Skip to content

Oh My Darling Clementine

May 21, 2010

Suzy has left the rolling hills of Iowa for her home in the Windy City, but she left me a bottle of clementine syrup to sweeten our parting.  This golden treat is the delicious result of candying clementine slices, so it is intensely infused with the fragrant citrus oils from the peel of the clementine.  So far, I’ve had it over whole-grain, flax-seed waffles, and mixed it with tonic water and a little grapefruit vodka for a refreshing cocktail.  I’m imagining it over vanilla ice-cream for a gourmet twist on the creamsicle.  My next plan is to mix it with some olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs and use it as a marinade for chicken.  How would you use it?

One Comment
  1. May 21, 2010 6:00 pm

    Oh dang, those are some good uses for the syrup. I never really thought beyond its applications in a cocktail. 😛

Comments are closed.

