Skip to content

Breakfast Smoothie Addiction

May 4, 2010

I might be addicted to breakfast smoothies.  In fact, not even “might.”  On mornings when I have cereal or a bagel instead of a breakfast smoothie, I feel a little off, a little low-energy.  I feel annoyed that I missed an opportunity to squeeze 3 servings of fruits and vegetables into the first half-hour of my day.  My friend Arizona Ice Skater got me drinking green monsters, but I found their healthful austerity a little off-putting.  I need a breakfast I can look forward to in the morning.  My solution?  Add chocolate.  Most of the time, I use chocolate Ovaltine.  If you prefer less processed stuff, use unsweetened cocoa powder and 1 Tbsp honey instead.

Chocolate Berry Breakfast Smoothie

several large handfuls of fresh baby spinach

1 banana (try freezing it for a great slushy texture)

1/2 cup frozen cherries (or blueberries, or strawberries…)

3/4 cup soy milk (or almond milk, or hemp milk, or cow’s milk…)

1/2 cup ice water

4 level Tbsp Ovaltine (or unsweetened cocoa powder + 1 Tbsp honey)

1 heaping Tbsp flax meal (or chia seeds*)

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Optional: a few sprigs of herbs (mint, thyme, or basil are all good)

Put the spinach in the blender first, and weight it down with the other ingredients.  Blend until smooth.  Makes 2 servings.

*A note about chia seeds: check with your doctor before eating these.  They are loaded with nutritional benefits, but they can also powerfully lower your blood pressure.  After a month of drinking breakfast smoothies with chia seeds nearly every morning, my already habitually low blood pressure dropped into the danger zone.  In future, I’ll be more careful to introduce any new supplement into my diet slowly and mindfully.

2 Comments
  1. Lorrie permalink
    May 5, 2010 11:22 pm

    Yum! I never think about adding veggies to smoothies, but what a great way to get your vitamins. Do you think this would still work if I don’t have a freezer and ice?

  2. May 6, 2010 6:14 pm

    I think it would work fine as long as everything else was pretty cold (e.g., chill the water and whatever fruit you’re using thoroughly in the fridge before making it). Let me know if you mix up the flavors — I’d be interested to see what you come up with!

Comments are closed.

