Skip to content

Our Goose Is Cooked: Thanksgiving-Leftovers Pot Pie

November 27, 2011

The Midwestern Gentleman and I hosted our first holiday in our new home this Thanksgiving.  The six of us made for a cozy gathering in our small but accommodating dining room.  Since the majority of the group are not fans of turkey, I tried my hand at roast goose.  It’s something I’ve always wanted to cook, and Thanksgiving gave me the proper motivation.  The problem with goose is its thick layer of fat (shared by most water fowl); if the fat is not rendered properly, you end up with a greasy, rubbery mess.  Happily, we had no such problem.  Julia Child’s technique for steam-roasting a goose (from The Way to Cook) worked perfectly.  After an hour steaming on the stove-top, most of the fat had drained away into the roasting pan.  A few hours braising in wine in the oven followed by a half-hour of browning produced a gorgeous, golden-brown, juicy goose.  I’m still kicking myself for forgetting to take a picture of it.  Instead of Julia’s recipe for sauce, I used this delicious recipe for gravy with Madeira wine.

There was not much goose left over, but when I noticed we had one pie-crust’s worth of homemade dough left in the refrigerator, I decided to use what little goose meat remained — along with other Thanksgiving leftovers — to make individual pot pies.  I imagine this would work with many different combinations, depending on what you served for Thanksgiving.  I’ve transcribed the recipe below as I made my pies, but you could make any number of substitutions to create your own original Thanksgiving-leftovers pot pie. The Midwestern Gentleman and I both agreed we loved these tasty little pies even better than our original Thanksgiving feast!

Thanksgiving-Leftovers Pot Pie

1 tsp goose fat

1 large clove garlic

1/2 cup chopped sweet onion

1/2 cup chopped celery (about 1 stalk)

1/3 cup fresh cranberries, quartered

1/2 cup Madeira wine

1 cup roasted goose, cubed

1/2 cup frozen peas

1 1/2 cups roasted root vegetables
(I used sweet potatoes, parsnips, red-skinned potatoes, and Yukon Gold potatoes)

1 sprig fresh rosemary, chopped

1 sprig fresh sage, chopped

1 cup or more leftover gravy (or 1 can Cream of Mushroom soup)

dough for 1 pie crust, separated into 4 equal portions

Recipe makes four individual-serving pot pies.  Preheat oven to 375 F.  Heat the goose fat in a medium-sized pan over medium heat.  Cook the onion, garlic, and celery, stirring occasionally, until slightly softened.  Add the cranberries and Madeira and simmer until the wine has mostly evaporated.  Add the goose meat, peas, root vegetables, herbs, and gravy (or cream of mushroom soup).  Stir well until heated through, and then divide the mixture evenly among four 1-cup ramekins.

Roll each of the four portions of dough into a ball and then roll out flat about an inch in diameter wider than the mouth of the ramekins.  Lay the dough over the filling in the ramekins and tuck under the edges of the dough.

Pinch the edges, and then cut vents in the dough to allow steam to escape.  Place the ramekins on a baking sheet.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, until filling is bubbling and crust is golden brown.

2 Comments
  1. The mom permalink
    November 30, 2011 7:19 pm

    This looks like it was a wonderful Thanksgiving meal!!!!! The pot pie afterward is an awesome idea. We will have to try this.

    We are glad that it was a success!!!

  2. vadelekta permalink
    June 20, 2012 11:56 am

    I tried this recipe with goose, then later with turkey, and I continue to be surprised with every bite how delicioius it is! I used to enjoy regular chicken pot pies, but I am not sure if I will ever go back–this flavor is too wonderful! I just mixed up a single 10″ pie with chicken and dried cherries to freeze. I’ve got to believe it’s going to taste great–even with a store-bought crust. The red wine and rosemary do wonders for this dish!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

