Skip to content

Kool-Aid Pickles. Really.

July 2, 2011

My friend Jeff and I met in Iowa and first bonded over our New England roots.  This means we have a deep, nostalgic love for Dunkin Donuts and other foodstuffs of the Northeast.  I was intrigued when Jeff told me about his plans to try a recipe that hails from the Mississippi Delta.  A native Iowan who had lived for a time in Mississippi introduced Jeff to the Kool-Aid pickle.  “My reaction to the first bite,” claims Jeff, “was to shout ‘this is disgusting!’  Then I ate another 3 pickles.”  Jeff used cherry Kool-Aid for his first attempt to recreate this southern delicacy.  Based on the results, he’s already plotting an entire rainbow of pickles for his second batch.  I must admit, the weird flavor is kind of addictive.  Just try to get your brain to synthesize the flavor of dill pickles with artificial cherry: can you do it?  I couldn’t, not until I actually tasted one.  It tastes a bit like a bread-and-butter pickle, with a sort of sweet and sour tang, and an overtone of general fruitiness.  There are lots of recipes online for these treats (just Google “Kool-Aid pickle recipe) as well as an interesting article in the New York Times from a few years ago.

I’m glad I tasted the pickles (and I did eat two of them), but I think this is one recipe I will leave to Jeff.  Two Kool-Aid pickle makers may be a bit much for a small town like Ames.

2 Comments
  1. July 2, 2011 7:08 pm

    I have never in my life heard of Kool-Aid pickles. Who knew? And kudos for trying one…I’m intrigued, but not enough to go out and make any.

Trackbacks

  1. The Red, the White, And the Blue | Suburbhomestead's Blog

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

