Skip to content

Song of Smoothie Season: Ginger Lime Peach

April 9, 2011

To me, spring is the onset of Smoothie Season, the part of the year when a light, refreshing breakfast can be enjoyed in bare feet and sunshine.  (A sharp contrast to wintertime’s hot oatmeal, eaten by lamplight in the dark.  While wearing slippers.)  Last year, I could not get enough of chocolate berry spinach smoothies.  Lately, I’ve been contemplating new flavor combinations for the smoothie platform, and something spiked with fresh ginger seemed like just the extra zing I’ve been craving.  I like to use frozen fruit (whether I’ve frozen it myself, or bought it that way) instead of ice, and I also like to add some form of protein, whether whey powder, soy or almond milk, or yogurt.  Adding protein makes for a more balanced meal, as well as keeping me feeling sated longer.

If you’ve been skeptical of the spinach smoothie revolution (and you like tropical flavors), then this is the smoothie for you.  Follow these simple steps — use tender, baby spinach, wilt and cool the spinach, and blend up the smoothie base before adding the frozen fruit — and I promise that neither the texture nor the flavor of this smoothie will hint at spinach.  As for the vivid green color?  Just remind yourself before your first sip that this is a ginger lime smoothie, and then kick back and enjoy.

Ginger Lime Peach Smoothie

2 cups loosely packed, fresh baby spinach

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

zest of 1 lime

juice of 1 lime

1 cup vanilla or peach yogurt

about 1 cup frozen, sliced peaches (or the equivalent of 1 peach)

Place the spinach in a microwave-safe bowl and zap it on high for about 30-45 seconds, just to wilt it.  Place the spinach in the refrigerator to cool while you prep the rest of the ingredients.

Add the yogurt to the blender.  Peel and grate the ginger (about 1-inch piece) and add to the blender, discarding any particularly fibrous bits.  Zest and juice the lime, adding both zest and juice to the blender.  Add the wilted and cooled spinach.  Puree the yogurt-spinach mixture until smooth.

Add the frozen peaches and ice water.  Blend until smooth, and serve immediately.  Makes 1-2 servings.

2 Comments
  1. April 12, 2011 3:18 pm

    Okay … I’m going to trust you on this one … I have never been the smoothie sort, been too busy inhaling omelets and bacon for breakfast, but I must lose some weight and my son (and my doctor) have been recommending smoothies as a way to start the day and slide an afternoon snack in also… so … here goes!

  2. April 12, 2011 9:04 pm

    Oh, good luck! The beauty of the smoothie is you can taste it as you go along, and adjust all the proportions until you get something with a taste and texture/thickness that you really like. It’s also easy to change up flavors. I’ll look forward to hearing about your experiments!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

