Skip to content

What I’m nibbling on…

February 12, 2011

These are some of the things I’ve been nibbling on this week, both gastronomically and intellectually.  I’ve been finding them too delicious not to share.

William Woys Weaver’s Culinary Ephemera: An Illustrated History caught my eye at the library this week.  He traces the history of packaging, labels, matchbooks, menus, and other food-related ephemera.  Weaver’s interpretive text is accessible and entertaining as he points to the economic and social trends reflected by this aspect of advertising.  In addition to pleasantly digestible content, the book offers up a delightful array of full-color illustrations (like the advertisement for Worcestershire Sauce, below).

Advert on left from Culinary Ephemera: An Illustrated History

The Skeptical Gentleman has raised his eyebrow more than once as I have deployed my bottle of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce this week (in mashed potatoes, in spinach & artichoke dip, in marinara sauce…)  However, he hasn’t argued with the results.  I love Worcestershire sauce; it’s a great go-to condiment for perking things up.  Proceed carefully, however — add too much, and the sauce’s distinctive flavor will take over instead of just adding a lift.

Single serving Nutella travel packs: genius!  High five to my thoughtful sister, who slipped a bunch of these into my Christmas stocking.

My friend Courtney is a wonderful cook, but has just never done much baking.  This week, she baked her very first cake from scratch, and I was lucky enough to score a slice.  The dense, creamy frosting perfectly complemented the cake’s light, even crumb.  The top cake layer was vanilla, the bottom cake layer had a hint of lemon, and the frosting was flavored with almond.  Delicious!  I am already looking forward to her future baking endeavors.

What have you been nibbling on?

2 Comments
  1. Michele, Indiana permalink
    February 15, 2011 1:12 pm

    If you’re a Nutella fan there’s a recipe on David Lebovitz’s website for a chocolate hazelnut spread. I monkeyed with it because I was looking to use up a small amount of chocolate ganache leftover in my fridge. It was fun to make, delicious, and of course I had to keep tasting as I went along since I wasn’t following the recipe strictly…

  2. February 15, 2011 1:16 pm

    Ooh, thanks for the heads-up. I love his site. And Nutella. :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

