Skip to content

Last of the Bolos

June 27, 2010

It was with great sadness that I watched Ghana defeat the U.S. in the World Cup Round of 16.  I consoled myself with the last of the bolos that my mom had brought me from Connecticut last week.  Bolos levedos are Portuguese muffins.  They look sort of like an English muffin with less pronounced “nooks and crannies,” but the similarity ends there.  Bolos have a unique flavor reminiscent of Portuguese sweet bread, and they toast up light and crispy on the outside, while staying deliciously chewy inside.  I need to hunt up a recipe for them, since I haven’t been able to find them in Iowa stores.  If you know of a good recipe, send it my way.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

